Restricted Countries

While the Trustees strive to fund projects in every country that meets the Foundation's funding criteria, it is occasionally necessary to restrict support in a particular country.

Currently, restrictions are in place for the following countries:


Applications will only be considered if they fulfil the following criteria:

  • They are from those who have graduated with a BSc degree in the past three years or from MSc/PhD students or those who have graduated from such studies in the past three years.
  • As per the Instructions for Applicants, this funding would be for fieldwork elements only.
  • Projects must also have direct conservation benefit to threatened habitats or species.
Any application that does NOT meet these criteria will be automatically rejected.

Countries with Banking Sanctions

Because of international banking sanctions, we are regrettably unable to consider ANY applications for projects in the following countries. We keep this list under constant review and any changes in policy will be advertised on our website.

  • Afghanistan
  • Belarus
  • Crimea
  • Cuba
  • Iran
  • Myanmar
  • North Korea
  • Occupied Palestinian Territories (OPT) (Gaza and West Bank)
  • Russia
  • South Sudan
  • Sudan
  • Syria
  • Venezuela